Marxism by Any Other Name

When I took Critical Theory in college (it was a requirement,) the professor said that Cultural Studies was what took over in the universities among Marxists after the fall of the Soviet Union. I watched a dyed in the wool commie professor tell a well-known Queer Theory professor that she was plagiarizing Marx. The phrase “Cultural Marxism” is a perfectly accurate description, and within academia people make no bones about being indebted to the Frankfurt School. Hell, I’ve read my fair share of Marcuse and Adorno, because they’re still being assigned in schools.

I guess no one should be surprised when Lefties are disingenuous, but it’s strange that they would deny the influence of the Frankfurt School on their contemporary thought. Here’s Lee Stranahan’s working definition:

Cultural Marxism is a branch of Marxism advocated by the Frankfurt School of philosophers such as Erich Fromm, Max Horkheimer and Herbert Marcuse that focuses on cultural factors as agents for social change, as opposed to the traditional Marxist view that focused on economic factors.

Which works for me. Basically, Cultural Marxism uses the class struggle between the bourgeoisie and proletariat as its framework, and substitutes economic class with race, sex, religion, etc. It’s still an oppressor vs. oppressed thing, but the true goal of destroying capitalism, which is always the ultimate goal, is hidden in a humanitarian framework.

The general rule works something like this: the new bourgeoisie is always white, almost always straight, usually male, and not confused about the nature of its private parts. There are bonus points for having money, but it’s not necessary. The proletariat is everyone else, which is why straight white women and white lesbians sometimes fall into the bourgeoisie category.

I’ve picked out an article from one of my Lefty college friends’ Facebook feeds to illustrate what Lefties say to each other when they think no one is looking.

The White Gaze Quite Literally Shot and Killed Jonathan Ferrell 

This one is special in that it also brings in psychoanalysis, making it a twofer on discredited theories on human behavior. Here black football player Jonathan Ferrell plays proletariat to a police officer’s bourgeoisie, in much the same way that Trayvon Martin and George Zimmerman played similar roles in the media.

Feel free to try this experiment out on any news story, magazine article, novel, short story, or video game. Or anything else. It’s shockingly easy and can get you a Ph.D these days.

If your kids want to major in English or a related field, do yourself, them and society a big favor and slam their heads in a car door a few times.

7 comments

  1. Pingback: LIVE AT FIVEEIGHT: 09.20.13 : The Other McCain
  2. thatmrgguy

    I went to that link…what a bunch of tripe. I’m sorry that kid got killed, but I’m also tired of some Black people always claiming racism every time a Black kid makes a bad decision and gets a bad result.

  3. Pingback: FMJRA 2.0: Come Inside : The Other McCain
  4. Lee

    I got an MA and was working on a PhD in literature (foreign language.) Now I got my BA in theater in the early eighties. It was still normal. Criticism had more to do with Aristotle’s “Poetics.” Went back to grad school ten years later. Clueless about what had transpired over the intervening years. The whole Frankfort School crap made no sense to me. I used to call my mother (who was brilliant; genius level IQ) and read the run-on sentences from Judith Butler, so we could laugh at how nonsensical they were. Chucked it all two years in to the PhD.* Whew! Would hate to be dealing with either working in Academia, or trying to get a job in academia today. I would feel like Cassandra…

    Happily working in facilities and engineering at a hospital.

    Though I sometimes wish someone had slammed my head in a car door before I wasted the money and flushed all that time down the toilet.

    BTW, the BA was very useful–learned great sewing and carpentry skills, basic electrical and welding skills, and got a fantastic grounding in world literature and world history. Of course, now a days, you can get a BA from a MAJOR STATE UNIVERSITY without reading a single word of Shakespeare.

    * I had thought about defecting from my department to the theater department to finish my PhD. But it kinda bothered me that not a single course in the grad program in theater involved either the literature or history of theater/drama. It was SOLELY focused on theory and criticism. And this was NYU. God help us.

    • Chandler's Ghost

      Funny. I have about 80% of an MA in Literature and I work in facilities as well. The undergrad work was at least fun, but grad school was a colossal slog of people trying to out-PC one another. And yes, nowadays one could easily receive a BA without reading a page of Shakespeare. It isn’t about the work anymore; it’s primarily about posturing.
      Thanks for reading!

  5. Pingback: marxisminusa