Why You Should Leave Los Angeles

He was carried through the exit to the back street and lifted into a police car. The siren began to scream and at first thought he was making the noise himself. He felt his lips with his hands. They were clamped tight. He knew then it was the siren. For some reason this made him laugh and he began to imitate the siren as loud as he could.

-Nathaniel West, The Day of the Locust

Two weeks ago, my girlfriend and I drove to Anaheim to go to a convention. The moment we crossed from Los Angeles County into Orange County, the potholes immediately disappeared.  So did the graffiti. All of that glorious “street art” that Snoopy, SpiderB and their crew graced us with in L.A. vanished at the county line.

We parked at Angel Stadium to catch a shuttle to the Anaheim Convention Center. Angel stadium was clean. I mean, lovely. It was nothing like grubby Dodger Stadium. I remarked on this to my girlfriend, and she said, “Man, our city sucks.” Indeed. Our city sucks.

If you live in the City of Los Angeles, try this any time you leave the city. The possible exception is North Long Beach, but if you travel into Simi Valley, Santa Clarita, Culver City, Burbank, or West Hollywood, you will know what it feels like to live in a city that cares about its residents. The places are just…less dirty. And it’s not as though it’s more expensive to live in these other cities, especially Simi.

I live in Los Angeles for now, but when I get the first opportunity I’ll leave the city and hopefully the state. If you’re in a similar situation, this blog is for you. If you’ve left L.A. and want to give tips, this blog is for you. Heck, if you love L.A. and think I’m wrong, this blog is for you.

Enjoy the ride!

 

